Call For Papers

Scope & Topics

Now in its 2nd edition, the Software Engineering Symposium – UTFPR-DV (SimES) provides a forum for scientific advances, results, and knowledge transfer in the theory and methodology of Software Engineering, Computer Science, Software Systems, and Applications. The symposium looks for contributions and ideas to all major fields of Software Engineering and Computation in theoretical and practical aspects. Undergraduate students, graduate students, practitioners, and researchers are invited to submit contributions to this event. The 2019 symposium will be held on 5th of September 2019 at the Federal University of Technology – Paraná campus Dois Vizinhos (UTFPR-DV), Brazil.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:


We encourage the submission of (i) position papers, (ii) secondary studies (systematic literature reviews and mapping studies), (iii) cases experienced in industry, and (iv) early stage work. Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the SimES Program Committee, defining the papers that will be included in the proceedings. The selected papers will be orally presented in the technical sections of the event.

Paper Submission and format:

Contributions are further divided into extended abstract (46 pages) and abstracts (12 pages). Any submission reserves the authors’ right to submit a full version of the same paper elsewhere. The paper template follows the rules proposed by the Brazilian computer society (SBC), being accessed by the following link: Template SBCLatex, .odt e .doc. Manuscripts should be submitted through the following link (PDF format):

Important Dates:

Submission Deadline: 31st of July 2019 (26th of July 2019, 19th of July 2019).
Authors Notification: 12th of August 2019 (
09th of August 2019).
Final Manuscript Due: 21st of August 2019 (
19th of August 2019).

General Chair:

Prof. Dr. Yuri Kaszubowski Lopes – UTFPR-DV –

Programme Chairs:

Prof. Dr. Anderson Chaves Carniel – UTFPR-DV –
Prof. Dr. Francisco Carlos M. Souza – UTFPR-DV –
Prof. Dr. Rafael Alves Paes de Oliveira – UTFPR-DV –
Profa. Dra. Simone de Sousa Borges – UTFPR-DV –

Programme Committee Members:

Prof. Me. Adriano Bezerra – FATEC – Lins-SP
Profa. Dra. Alinne Corrêa – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. André Takeshi Endo – UTFPR-CP
Prof. Me. André Roberto Ortoncelli – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Bruno Barbieri de Pontes Cafeo – UFMS
Prof. Dr. Elder de Macedo Rodrigues – UNIPAMPA
Prof. Me. Evandro Miguel Kuszera – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Fabiano Cutigi Ferrari – UFSCar
Profa. Me. Franciele Beal – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Gustavo Jansen de Souza Santos – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Me. Jorge Francisco Cutigi – IFSP São Carlos-SP
Prof. Dr. João Silva – UNIPAMPA
Prof. Dr. Lucas Bueno Ruas Oliveira – IFSP São Carlos-SP
Prof. Dr. Marco Aurélio Graciotto Silva – UTFPR-CM
Prof. Me. Marlon Marcon – UTFPR-DV
Profa. Dra. Marisangela Brittes – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Me. Misael Costa Júnior – USP – ICMC
Prof. Me. Newton Carlos Will – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Paulo Gabriel Gadelha Queiroz – UFERSA-Mossoró
Prof. Me. Renê Pomilio de Oliveira – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Rodolfo Adamshuk Silva – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Me. Rodrigo Pagno – UTFPR-DV
Prof. Dr. Wesley K. G. Assunção – UTFPR-TD